Posted by: yogavet | May 30, 2005

home again, home again

So, I survived finals. We’ll see just how *well* I survived in a few weeks. I think I survived. In any case, it’s over. And I’m home! Actually I’ve been home over a week, it’s just been so nice to be utterly lazy and do pretty much nothing, that I couldn’t even bring myself to update this sucker. But, now that I’m finally getting around to unpacking (seriously), I figured I could take some time to add a few words to this thing.

The big thing going on here is that Ace is not doing well. The lump in his neck turned out to be a pretty darn aggressive thyroid carcinoma – when they opened him up to take it out they saw how locally invasive it was, it’s non-encapsulated, and growing really rapidly (it’s bigger than a baseball at this point). The likelyhood of metastasis is pretty high, and the doctors don’t recommend chemo or radiation. So, we’re just watching and waiting, which sucks. But we’re taking it one day at a time, making sure he’s comfortable, and he’s getting all the love, attention, and treats that he can soak up. So as far as he’s concerned, life is good. The nice thing about dogs is that they don’t realize their mortality. He’s not scared to die – we’re just scared to lose him. So we sit around petting him and acting all sad, and he looks at us with the same old look on his face, loving it up, licking our faces, wagging his tail. So we’ll keep on giving him anything and everything he wants until life’s no longer so good for him. But that’s gonna be a really tough day.

Whew. Alright. Now that I’ve got all the sadness off my chest… We’re also in the midst of a wedding marathon around here, which is fun and exciting. Mary Beth’s bachelorette party was this past weekend – much fun was had by all πŸ™‚ We had a bbq (with lingerie! which was not, actually, girls in lingerie, barbecuing. sorry to disappoint…) then we went minigolfing, came back and had ice cream and played Phase 10. I actually can’t think of a more perfect party for MB. πŸ™‚ And next weekend is the wedding! I’m heading up to Massachusetts on Thursday night, the wedding is Sunday. There’s a bunch of stuff going on Friday and Saturday, but to be perfectly honest I don’t even know the timeline. I’m just gonna show up and go with it. What a great bridesmaid I turned out to be! It’s a good thing she has Miss and Jess, they pretty much took care of it all. I’m excited for it all, though, it should be good times. And I’ve been told it’s gonna be the biggest event to hit Atkinson, NH in all of 5 years. Which, actually, if you’ve seen Atkinson at all, is not that surprising. πŸ˜› But it should still be great fun.

Okay, time to get back to cleaning. I can see most of my floor, so I’m almost there. I’d like to get to sleep at a decent hour tonight, since I didn’t go to sleep until 4 last night, and my mom woke me up at 10 this morning “Because it’s such a beautiful day and I can’t believe you’re sleeping through it!”. :-p So with that, goodnight, and if you’re reading this and you’re in the area (really, if you’re within 3 hours of Ledyard), gimme a call, we should hang out!


Leave a comment

Categories