Posted by: yogavet | December 22, 2010

Happy Solstice!

In honor of the winter solstice and the start of a new solar year, I have been doing some thinking.  This year has been a hard one on a personal level, and I’m very much looking forward to a fresh start in this new one.

I’ve always waited until Jan 1st for New Years “resolutions”, which I don’t keep, ever.  So, this year, I’m celebrating the new solar year as my new start.  Therefore, I resolve to honor my body and the planet in the following ways:

1.  Drinking more water.  Way more water.  I’ve realized that I can go a whole day drinking only caffienated or alcoholic beverages.  This is not okay. 

2.  Establishing a regular yoga practice.  Tomorrow, I’m kicking off with a gentle yoga class at 8am.  I’ve been avoiding paying for classes in order to save money, but I need a jump start, and classes are the best way to get my butt back in gear.   Plus, the first one’s free! 

3.  Eating more veggies and grains, and less meat.  I recently read Mark Bittman’s approach to healthy, sustainable eating, which he refers to as “vegan before 6” – that is, vegan for breakfast and lunch, and then omnivorous for dinner.  I like this approach, it seems balanced to me. 

That’s all.  Nothing crazy.  Just trying to refocus, get centered again after a crazy year.  Here’s to a new trip around the sun, new possibilities and new adventures.

Responses

  1. More water, more yoga, and more veggies! Simple … but brilliant!! Plus … we all will benefit from another trip around the sun. Make certain you’re wearing your seatbelt!! It could be an interesting ride! 😉

  2. Yep, Dad, it might be pretty interesting!


Leave a Reply

Categories

