Posted by: yogavet | December 22, 2010

A gentle start to the new year

Well, so far so good!  I woke up at 7am (on my day off) and brewed some green tea, got my yoga gear on and got my butt to the studio.  This yoga studio, to be specific.  I attended the Gentle class, and it was just what I needed.  Very relaxing, and restorative, with just enough Warriors and Utkatasana to make me feel like I got the blood pumping.  I noticed that the balancing poses were difficult today – my mind needs to be calmer for those to come back to me.  But overall, I feel a million times better this morning. 

I stopped at Sacred Grounds on my way home, which is the cutest little Christian coffee shop you ever saw.  I got a latte, since the 1/4 cup of green tea that I sipped on before my yoga class was just not quite cutting it.  I’ve made some hearty oatmeal for brunch (rolled oats with mixed dried berries, walnuts, ground flax, wheat germ and agave syrup, plus lots of cinnamon… have I mentioned I love real oatmeal?  Oh my.) 

In other news, the kittens are keeping me entertained by doing serious “airs above the ground” in the kitchen.  We should seriously videotape this stuff, we could entertain the masses on YouTube.

Time to get myself together, clean the house, decorate a bit more (I can’t help it!) and then meet the lovely Jenna for coffee.  Maybe some more Christmas shopping?  I told myself I was done… maybe I’m not  😉

Responses

  1. You inspired me to take my first GENTLE yoga class this past Wednesday and I was lucky enough to be the only one in the class this time of year … so I received personalized instruction. I really liked the Warriors but the ‘Cat to Cow’ could take some getting used to. Could have fallen asleep at the end given how relaxed I was feeling! Merry Christmas Eve, Ashley. Love, Dad

  2. Ash, I am glad you found a yoga studio! It definitely warms my soul in the winter weather. 🙂 I have been very much enjoying my gingerbread coffee and can’t wait to try out my new yoga shorts and towel. This upcoming 4 day weekend is going give me time to read too. Love and miss you so much.


Leave a Reply

Categories

