Posted by: yogavet | December 7, 2010

bad cats

Alright, slacking on the blog again.  Sometimes, I just feel like I don’t have enough to say to warrent writing anything at all.  But, just watched “Julie and Julia” and have been reinspired.  Not, however, to cook my way through “Mastering the Art of French Cooking”.  Don’t get me wrong, I love me some butter.  But I think there are other cookbooks I could work my way through first.  I’m like 1/100th of the way through “How to Cook Everything”, for example  🙂 

Matt’s out of town, so I’ve been keeping weird hours and letting the cats sleep in my bed… I don’t know what it is, I used to live alone and not be bothered by the silence.  But without Matt in the house it’s empty.  I eat weird, too.  Black bean and squash burrito, two nights in a row?  Sure.  Tonight I ate nutella and pretzels, followed by a cheesy tortilla roll-up, then instant pudding.  Okay, that’s a little embarrassing.  Enough about my crazy bachelorette habits. 

In an attempt to transition the kittens from their lock-down in the laundry room to being allowed to roam the house while we’re gone, I’ve been leaving them out for stretches while I run errands.  This weekend they handled 3 or 4 hour stretches to their own devices just fine.  Or so I thought.  The favorite game is climbing up on the counter, into the sink, and licking dishes.  Or stealing the sponge, but I’ve begun hiding it under the sink, so that’s less of an option.  I’ve been trying to keep the dirty dishes to a minimum, to decrease temptation. 

But today I came home after leaving them out all day, and noticed two very guilty looking kittens in the kitchen.  Right after I noticed that the kitchen sink was running water.  The hot water.  It was still warm, so we hadn’t run out of it, at least.  I have no idea how long it had been on.  20 minutes?  6 hours?  We’re on city water, which I suppose is good because we’re not at risk of burning out a well, but on the other hand, I have to pay for all that water that the kittens put down the drain.  And the electricity to heat it.  Sigh.  I can only hope it doused which ever one was responsible.  Not that they’ve learned, at all. 

Alright.  I think that’s enough random doses of reality for one evening.  Here’s to a more consistent tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Categories

