Posted by: yogavet | November 8, 2010

Early mornings

I’ve never really been a morning person.  The alarm goes off a couple times before I can roll out of bed.  My first stop is the coffee pot, which was set the night before to be brewed by now.  I drink a cup, eat something light (freshly made english muffin from the farmers market with cream cheese, yes please!) and browse the internet while the fog clears. 

But, my job sometimes makes me a morning person.  (These days, it’s not my job, but Matt’s, that gets me up early – he has to be at the track at dawn.)  And sometimes I appreciate the views…

That’s not the sunrise this morning, that was a few weeks back.  The weather in this region is a little gloomy – the lakes cause lots of cloud cover (one of the reasons for all the snow), but we get some spectacular sunrises and sunsets.

I also, theoretically, have time for things like cleaning and making bread when I get up with Matt and don’t have to be at work until 8:30 or so.  Last night, I started some sourdough bread.  The thing about baking good bread, I’m beginning to learn, is TIME.  You can’t rush it.  It has to be kneaded for a good 5-10 minutes.  Then it has to rise – most recipes say for an hour, but let me tell you, in a cooler house it can take many hours for the dough to “double in size”.  Then you have to knead it again, and riiiise again.  What I’ve started to do is either start it in the early morning (if I’m going to be home during the day), or start it the night before I want to bake it.  Then it can rise overnight in my cool, 60 degree house, I can punch it down in the morning and let it rise for the day.  Then when I come home from work, pop it in the oven, and voila!  Fresh bread for dinner.  🙂   Magical. 

But in order to get all that cleaning and bread making done, I have to detach myself from the computer.  ::tear::

Responses

  1. Fresh sourdough bread during my Thanksgiving visit to NY?? I love sourdough bread!! 😉 Yummy!! Can’t wait to visit!!

  2. that can be arranged, if you’re good 🙂

    I’m liking this sourdough, it’s not TOO sour. Last batch I mixed in a bit of wheat flour, which wasn’t bad either. This baking stuff’s not so hard, go figure!


Leave a Reply

Categories

