Posted by: yogavet | September 28, 2010

If it’s not Scottish…

Why does a fiddle speak to my soul? 

I am just slightly obsessed with Irish music and Bluegrass.  Which I consider to be fairly similar, at least in beat and in their use of a fiddle.  

Recently, I have been listening to a lot of Mumford and Sons, which is an awesome English band with a thumping beat and excellent lyrics.  They rock out the fiddle, as well.  And sometimes horns.   Which I’m totally cool with. 

I think in generally, all things Celtic have been very close to my heart.  I’m a classic American mutt, more French than anything, but I’ve never really identified with France.  My great grandfather on my mother’s side was Scottish.  For some reason, that’s the heritage I feel closest with. 

Tonight, Matt and I decided to rock out to some music of our own creation.  There was some Ani Defranco, Bob Dylan, Johnny Cash, and Counting Crows.  But my favorite?   “If I Ever Leave This World Alive” by Flogging Molly.  Good stuff.

Responses

  1. Check out Alasdair Fraser at:

    http://www.alasdairfraser.com

    Saw him at the North Madison Congregational Church Fire in the Kitchen Concert Series…with his long-time student accompanying on cello…

    Also, Claire Lynch for Bluegrass…I have her “Moonlighter” and Silver and Gold CDs…wonderful!

  2. thanks Heidi, I’ll definitely check them out!


Leave a Reply

Categories

