Posted by: yogavet | March 19, 2010

I can breathe!

Okay, let me rephrase that.  I can sortof breathe.   But it is way better than the past week, so I’ll take it. 

I ended up coming down with a nasty headcold, which managed to settle into my ears and cause the first true middle ear infection I have had in my life.  Not fun, my friends!  I feel like I’m trapped in a fishbowl, everything is muffled, and listening with stethescopes (over the ringing in my ears) is very interesting indeed!  But I’m on antibiotics, which should be kicking this bug out of my system quickly.  I feel a ton better than I did this weekend, I just wish I could hear.   Whatever, breathing is a good first step!

This week has been baby central, we’ve had two newborns come into the world in the wee early morning hours… which is a little unusual, most foals are born between 10pm and 2am, these were at 5:30am and then 7am the next morning.  We’ve got one more ready to pop, I’m hoping she goes tonight for her sake, she looks miserable.  Baby pictures to come, I’ve been a slacker and not been saving them to post on the blog.  Still getting used to blogging in the new millenium!  Apologies. 

There’s been no yoga to speak of with this head cold and ear infection, if I move too fast in any direction in makes my head spin.  But I’m looking forward to getting back into the swing of things.  Spring means increased stress in this profession (as soon as the snow melts, babies start being born and everyone dusts their horses off and start galloping around having fun… and getting injured), so yoga becomes more important.  Need to get back on the horse, so to speak. 

And the job hunt continues.  The boy is at an inteview now, and I’ve been contacted by another practice… we shall see!  The market is still awful, so anything is better than nothing, but I would like to continue doing what I do best… ambulatory equine medicine.  And I would like to not have a long distance relationship.  Let’s hope the two aren’t mutually exclusive. 

Okay, time for laundry and dishwashing and the rest of the fun domestic things before bedtime and this mare decides to pop.  Happy belated St. Patty’s day and almost spring!

Leave a Reply

Categories

