Posted by: yogavet | January 13, 2008

Have I mentioned that I hate Philly?

So here I am, smack in the middle of a month of small animal medicine.  In my least favorite part of my least favorite city, doing what I like the very least about veterinary medicine… so, yeah.  Fun times.  It actually hasn’t been terrible, I just don’t want to be here.  The doctors are really nice, and a lot of my patients have been really cool.  But the hours are long, and I never get to see the sun.  And it’s not home – I’m displaced, I don’t know how the hospital runs, I miss my cat and my bed and my little life in Kennett Square.  And West Philly sucks.  It’s dirty, it’s scary, it’s depressing.  I never feel safe walking down the street…. and then….

I found out it was possible to hate Philly even more. 

A few nights ago, some guy was driving 100 miles/hour down the street I’ve been staying on, he lost control and plowed into like 6 parked cars… one of them mine, another one belonging to my friend Becky, another of my classmate Kevin’s.  One of the cars was being parked, and the driver was trapped inside, had to be cut out (and apparently is still in critical condition in the hospital).  The driver was ejected from the car, hit a pole, and then his car went on to hit a taxi head on (I think the driver of the taxi is okay).  I think the driver is currently dead or barely alive. 

I know that I’m lucky I wasn’t in the car.  I know there are many worse things that could happen to me in my life, and it’s just a car.  But leaving for work at 7:15 am and coming upon this on the side of the road is an experience I don’t want to have again:

Yep.  That’s my car.  Soon to be scrap metal.  I almost didn’t recognize it – if it wasn’t for the BU tassell hanging from the rear view mirror, I wouldn’t have believed it.  I was picking up stuff I had in my trunk off the other side of the sidewalk… it was pretty surreal.  Just to be clear, that’s not where I parked my car – it’s turned around on the same side of the street.  This side was facing the street, obviously. 

Here’s a few other choice ones…

Mine and Kevin’s:

And here’s the news pic, of how my car actually ended up.


Ugh.  I’m still sick about it.  It almost seems silly, to be so upset over a car.  You know, people are dying in the world… and I’m mourning the death of my car.  But I loved that car, it was a very close part of me for 6 years.  I’ve practically lived out of it, travelling from CT to Philly and back again, to upstate NY, down to VA, and all over in between.  I learned how to parallel park in that car – in Boston  šŸ™‚  It was super fun to drive… stick shift, turbo.  My sister thinks I should be excited to get a new car.  But honestly, I’d just really like to have my car back.  Ah well.  Can’t cry over spilled milk, and all that. 

I have awesome things going on in my life right now, really.  Philly aside, my life is going awesome.  I have a new man in my life who makes me smile, treats me like gold and who I’m crazy about.  I have a job for next year, I’m good at what I want to do, my family is healthy and happy.  And I’m getting a new car.  When I can just decide how the heck to replace my awesome old one.  šŸ˜¦

Leave a Reply

Categories

