Posted by: yogavet | September 3, 2007

fallen off the face of the earth? yes.

hey all, sorry I haven’t updated in like a year (okay, it hasn’t been that long, but it kinda feels like that).  Clinics are crazy, I’m on small animal soft tissue surgeryand it’s all I can do to keep my head above water.   I’m either at the hospital, running around like a crazy person trying not to screw up too badly, or I’m home doing paperwork or sleeping.  

I’m supposed to be doing paperwork, but I thought I’d leave this little tidbit for you all.  Last night, after day 7 of being at the hospital all day long, I decided to calculate my hours this week.  I was inspired by an episode of Grey’s Anatomy where they institute a mandatory 80 hour/week max that interns can be in the hospital, because of the mistakes people tend to make when they’re tired (not to mention driving off the road on their way home from an overnight shift on no sleep).  I thought that 80 hours was definitely on the low end for the hours we’re all working.  So.  

This week, according to my calculations, I worked 96 hours.   That’s an average (average!) of 13.7 hours per day at the hospital.  That’s not counting the time it takes to walk there (which is not much, but it adds up), and all the paperwork I’ve been doing at night.  Oh, and I’m supposed to be studying for my surgeries.  Right.  

So forgive me if you haven’t heard from me in a while  :-p  It’s not going to get better from here. 

Leave a Reply

Categories

