Posted by: yogavet | July 9, 2007

wanna read a great book?

I just finished reading Elizabeth Gilbert’s “Eat, Pray, Love” and I have to say it’s one of the best books I’ve ever read.  It’s a true account of her year long journey through Italy, India and Indonesia to find balance in her life after a terrible divorce followed by a crushing depression.  She’s amazing, and my hero  🙂  Go out and read this book immediately. 

I’ll write a bit more later – I’m on vacation, I spent last week at Beach Pond (aaah, talk about finding balance!), now I’m spending a week at my parent’s house in Carlisle.  I feel amazingly recharged already.  If you only have a week off in your summer and you need to “breathe and reboot”, you should go to Beach Pond.  Build a bonfire, lay on the dock and let the water rock you.  Take a lazy afternoon and kayak the perimeter of the lake, paddle into little coves and pretend there isn’t anyone else in the whole world.  Jump in the water, stand on a rock and watch the world go by.  It’s amazingly restorative  🙂    Reading an amazing book in the sunshine doesn’t hurt. 

My mom just had an awesome quote.  One of her friends sent a message about an upcoming birthday, and she wants to spend the birthday with all her friends motoring down a river for EIGHT DAYS.  My mom, true to form, said to us – “I don’t have eight days to help you celebrate your birthday.  How ’bout lunch?”  

Leave a Reply

Categories

