Posted by: yogavet | May 16, 2007

Ponies, ponies!

So, we’re fourth years.  Craziness.  It doesn’t seem possible that one year from now we’ll be doctors.  

Externships went well  πŸ™‚  I have two places I’m very interested in for internships.  And the sheep station was fabulous and very chill.  I never realized what cool personalities sheep had.  πŸ™‚  I always thought of goats that way, and thought that sheep were kind of just scared slugs.  But no!  They’re actually very cool.  Here’s my favorite sheep, his name was Oscar and he was an orphan and therefore very friendly with people: 

Aww, I miss Oscar  :-p  

So now I’m in clinics!  Craziness.  I’m starting off slow, with equine behavior.  It’s pretty relaxed, we spend a good chunk of the day sitting in a field watching ponies.  πŸ™‚  Today we were stuck out there in a thunderstorm, which was very exciting – I love a good storm.  There was a little shelter, so we were pretty protected from the nastiness, and it was actually pretty fun.  That view was not shared by everyone out there, though….  :-p   We’re also doing some behavior modification training on some of the teaching mares to get them to bemore compliant with needles, being caught, loading into stocks, etc.  It’s pretty interesting, and hopefully it’ll be very useful clinically later on.  

Pony foals:

That’s Caddy, Ice Cream Cone, and Whoopie  πŸ™‚  

My behavior case, CC – she’s learning to be still and not toss her neck when she gets injections.  She’s a fairly sweet girl, I’ve been liking working with her.  This is me target training her – I’m training her to touch that flyswatter (it’s clean, don’t worry….) with her nose when I give her the cue.  It’s actually pretty fun, and it can be used to lead her through things that she might otherwise find scary, like an obstacle course, into stocks, or over a tarp.  It’s good stuff  πŸ™‚

Anyway, that’s my update.   Next is NICU, so if I have time to update, it will be an insane schizo rant, so stay tuned! 

Leave a Reply

Categories

