Posted by: yogavet | February 23, 2007

Any minute now, my ship is coming in…

I was going to rant and rave a bit about a particularly annoying conversation I had last night where a certain now-unimportant person in my life made ridiculously uneducated remarks about my chosen profession, but I’m going to refrain. I refuse to waste my time on people who’s opinions shouldn’t matter to me.

Large animal block is almost over… I can’t even believe it. I’m going to be on my externships in a little over 2 weeks, and then I’ll be out in Idaho doing lots of repro work on sheep, then I’ll be back here to start clinics. I’ll have one FULL year of clinics at Penn…. no summer break, barely time off for christmas. I think I have a total of 3 two-week blocks that I’ll have off, randomly scattered through my year. And one of those blocks could turn into a clinical rotation if I need it to. But I’m not even worried about the lack of time off, I’m just excited to start. I’ve been waiting my whole life for this, and it’s finally happening. I know I’ll be a sleep-deprived mess most of the time, I’ll be screwing up things left and right, being yelled at by clinicians, etc, etc – but none of that scares me. ๐Ÿ™‚

That’s me closing up Caramel’s incision after we did her exploratory celiotomy (that’s just fancy doctor-speak for feeling around her belly). Cool, huh? It took me FOREVER. Pony bellies don’t like to stay closed, especially compared to dog bellies.

I was looking back on some of my entries from the beginning of school, and it’s so amazing to see how far I’ve come. I have my moments where I feel totally unprepared for what’s to come, and then I think about how little I knew just 2 years ago, and I feel like I’m going to be okay.

This is my first real day off since large animal block started ๐Ÿ™‚ I slept in until almost 11am, and I’ve been bumming around online drinking coffee since then. I really should organize my notes and start studying for diagnostic imaging, maybe even clean my apartment… We’ll see ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Categories

