Posted by: yogavet | April 30, 2006

foals

So very tired. But in a good way, for once πŸ™‚

I had a foal sitting shift at the large animal hospital from 6pm to midnight tonight. I got to sit with a huuuuge foal for most of the night, he kicked me, stepped on my ankle, and peed all over himself for most of the night. But when he wasn’t doing that, he sucked on my fingers, and nuzzled my face, and was the cutest darn thing ever. So I had a good night. I also got to see a tiiiny mini horse foal, and a baby alpaca (a cria, to use the correct term). The cria I actually got to restrain at the end of the night, which was super cute except for the mom making pukey noises like she was going to spit at us. But she managed not to do that, and I came away from my shift NOT smelling like alpaca vomit. Nobody had any babies while we were there… I’m still waiting to see my first foaling. Fingers crossed for next time.

To top off my good night, I came home to someone pulling out of a parking spot right in front of my house. Talk about good luck πŸ™‚

So, now I’m off to snuggle with my kitty and hopefully sleep in tomorrow morning – this will be the first morning in weeks that I can sleep in for. Sounds excellent πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Categories

