Posted by: yogavet | October 25, 2005

faith

I thought this was interesting, as someone who’s trying to be a better Christian:

You fit in with:
Taoism

Your ideals mostly resemble those of the Taoist faith. Spirituality is the most important thing in your life. You strive to live by all of your ideals, and live a very intellectually focused life.

60% spiritual.
20% reason-oriented.

Take this quiz at QuizGalaxy.com

Actually, that’s pretty dead-on. (the description of me, not that I’m a Taoist). But, first of all, I thought that Taoism was a philosphy, and not a religion, really. (But I’m basing this on my reading of The Tao of Pooh in eight grade…) Can you be a Taoist and a Christian? Probably not, but I don’t think they exclude each other. I’m trying not to take a silly online quiz too seriously, but it sort of cuts to the core of what I’ve been thinking about a lot these days – my faith.

I probably wouldn’t be thinking about this as much as I am except I feel like I’m at a cross-roads in my faith right now. I’m getting baptised next month, and I’m really trying to learn more and be stronger in my faith. I’m excited about it, but it’s also tough road. I got into a discussion with a woman today at a CVM(Christian Veterinary Mission) meeting about meditation. We had just read a chapter by Dr. Wayne Dyer on the Power of Intention (strange, I know, but it’s a *discussion* group, and we had a good discussion about it), and this woman felt very uncomfortable when he had instructed his readers to close their eyes and empty their minds. She said that the Bible says that a blank mind invites Satan in. Now, I’m going to have to find that verse, because that sounds silly to me. But – as someone who meditates on a semi-regular basis, I was a little disturbed by that idea. I’ve always thought of meditation as not only a calming practice, but also almost prayer-like. True, I’m not actively praying when I’m meditating, but I’ve always felt that it brought me closer to “truth”, and closer to God. I tried to explain that when you’re meditating, your mind is not “empty”. A meditative mind is free from active thoughts. You don’t have a laundry list of things running through your head. You are free to just sit and BE. And I think that in that space you find peace that, if you’re a Christian, can only be described as being closer to God. I can’t possibly see any evil in it. But it’s disturbing to me that people percieve it that way.

I’m not entirely sure where I’m going with all this. I’m really much too exhausted to be writing coherently, so perhaps my spiritual journey is better left for a time when I’m a little more rested. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

