Posted by: yogavet | October 10, 2005

It never ends…

I’m so exhausted, I think if I laid my head down on my keyboard, I’d be out.

Today was micro (was it really? this morning feels so long ago, it could have been a lifetime…), and I was relatively well prepared, even with having only a weekend to study (because who am I kidding, when do I ever give myself more time than that, even if I have it?). I even slept 6 hours last night. 6 hours! That’s double the amount of sleep I usually get before an exam. It’s just compounded on a week of studying for parasit, and the exams before that (who can even remember them anymore?) – and this week is going to be HELL. Systemic pathology. 21 hours of lecture, plus countless hours of lab. I don’t even want to think about it. But I need to, and soon, because I have less than a week to study, and even if I do nothing else but study (which is highly unlikely), I’m going to have a really tough time with this exam. Ugh. So, I’m exhausted, and sleeping is not really much of an option. For all my talk of how second year cannot POSSIBLY be worse than first year, it’s certainly creeping up there. I’m not nearly as stressed as I was at this time last year, but it’s more of a constant thing. (And since I very nearly made an analogy with acute and chronic disease pathways, I think I’ll stop now).

I actually had a decent night, all things considered. I watched awesome TV with my friends, ate good chinese food, and made cranberry/chocolate oatmeal cookies. Mmmm. And now I’m going to bed, to hopefully get a full 8 hours of sleep. It’s amazing how rarely that happens…

I’m beginning to think that it is no coincidence that the have someone at Student Counseling that is specifically trained to deal with vet students. No joke. We got an email telling us exactly who to ask for *when* (not if) we went there, because they’re specially trained to talk to us. ::sigh::

I also had no idea that it was Columbus day today. We get absolutely no days off, really. Penn doesn’t believe in them. Makes me slightly angry at other grad programs who get freakin’ jewish holidays off, in addition to all the national holidays. You know who you are. Grr. On the other hand, it made me remember what an absolutely ludicrous “holiday” Columbus day is.

Alright, time to sleep, snuggle with my kitty, and pretend I don’t have to get up to sit in lecture for yet another day.

Leave a Reply

Categories

