Posted by: yogavet | January 18, 2005

exam in a day and a half? huh?

So, today was a semi-productive day. (for once… slacker)

It started out as “one of those days.” And it turns out, it was “one of those days” for my whole family. But that’s a whole ‘nother…

I slept in (as I am apt to do the first day back after a long weekend), so had not much time at all to get my shit together and in the car to get to school. In the process of getting said shit in the car, I managed to set the car alarm off. At 8:30 am. The people at the bus stop must have thought I was a real winner. :-p After the few minutes (or did it just feel like that) of alarm-ness before I figured out that yes, I had to get OUT of the car and put the key in the lock (but I never put the KEY in the LOCK, how the hell???), I felt quite silly and quite ready to crawl in a hole. But I made it to school on time, all the same. Sat down in chalk talk, started getting out my paper and pretty multi-colored pens (ahhh, chalk talk…) when I realized that not many people were there. Hmm, looks like… half the class. Well, if I’d gotten there ON TIME last class I would have learned that only the upper lab was supposed to be in chalk talk first thing in the morning, the rest of us were supposed to go right up to lab. So, I got to get up right before the prof. started, and shuffle my way out of the room… again feeling oh-so-smart. But I was not the only one to do that, so it’s alright…

So after lab, and a pizza lunch where we talked about adrenal disease in ferrets (don’t call it Cushings! you’ll get cut…) I had the afternoon off (gosh, what am I gonna do when I actually start having ICVM labs?), and I ran some errands and came home to my Avenue Q CD! [Thanks Tay, you rock!] I then proceeded to download it on to my computer and burn a few copies (gotta share the love… you should really really check out this show, it’s AMAZING).

Then I went to yoga… and it turned out that I was the only one there, so I got a private lesson! Woo! [And since Megan already asked… no, the instructor was not a hot guy… while that would have been cool, I don’t think it would have helped my concentration any, and I have enough staying upright on tree pose…] So, I got lots of great pointers, and it was a really great class, once I got over the weirdness of “shit, this lady has nothing else to do for an hour other than make sure I am doing EVERY pose PERFECTLY”.

Then I came home for dinner and much studying. And actually did study, although probably not as much as I should have. But hey, I’ve got all day tomorrow! :-p Sheesh. This is gonna be an interesting exam.

So, that’s all I have to report. I need to pound out a few more lectures before I go to sleep tonight. Tomorrow’s gonna be a long day.

Oh, and just for the sake of procrastination (like I need an excuse) here’s the lyrics to my new favorite song:

There’s a fine, fine line
between a lover and a friend.
There’s a fine, fine line
between reality and pretend.
And you’ll never know
till you reach the top
if it was worth the uphill climb.

There’s a fine, fine line
between love and a waste of time.

There’s a fine, fine line
between a fairy tale and a lie.
And there’s a fine, fine line
between ‘you’re wonderful’ and ‘goodbye’.
I guess if someone doesn’t love you back
it isn’t such a crime.
But there’s a fine, fine line
between love and a waste of your time.

And I don’t have the time to waste on you anymore.
I don’t think that you even know what you’re looking for.
For my own sanity I’ve gotta close the door, and walk away.

There’s a fine fine line
between together and not.
And there’s a fine, fine line
between what you wanted and what you got.
You’ve gotta go after the things you want
while you’re still in your prime.

There’s a fine, fine line
between love and a waste of time.

(So it’s kind of a sad song, but it’s really pretty. And it’s one of the only two or so songs on the soundtrack that aren’t hysterically funny, so it kind of stands out. It’s also really, really true.)

Leave a Reply

Categories

