Posted by: yogavet | October 30, 2004

Happy Halloween!

Well, almost, but for all intents and purposes…

I’m getting ready to head out for a night of debauchery, haha. There hasn’t been much partying going on here for the past month or so, but since hell month is OVER (peace out, October!) Halloween couldn’t have come at a better time. I’m dressed up as… a Red Sox fan. Pretty lame, I know, but at least I’m not in Boston – in Philly it’s at least somewhat original. I hope. :-p And hey, I didn’t get to dress up and be crazy at the parade today, so I’m having my fun now. At least, that’s what I’m telling myself.

So, vet school’s going well. Midterms are over (took them long enough) and now we have 3 or so weeks before any more exams. Not that we’re not going to be studying our butts off for these next 3 weeks, but at least it won’t be as intense as it has been. We’ve been spending some time at New Bolton, the large animal facility, which has been pretty cool – last tuesday I palpated a cow for the first time (to those non-cow, non-horse people, “palpate” is a fancy word for sticking your arm up a large animal’s ass – if it’s a dog or cat, you can do this without going inside – thankfully! – but horses and cows are too big for that, so, in you go!) So there’s a picture of that floating around somewhere… haha. I also pulled blood from a cow for the first time, and milked several – it was pretty fun. I’m getting more comfortable around them, which is good. I’ve also gotten my hands on some horses, which is always great. We got to ultrasound some, which was pretty cool, even though we don’t have the slightest idea what we’re doing. But I definitely saw some tendons on the lower leg, and the jugular vein… all very cool 🙂

Alright, so that’s enough rambling for now. Off to drink away my stresses! :-p

Leave a Reply

Categories

